The C herb…

25 Oct

Ok… I have recently become a little in awe of the herb coriander, or cilantro as they call it here in the U.S.

I picked up an organic bunch of the stuff from the heavenly supermarket Whole Foods (cue angels singing “halleluja”!) (seriously am in love with this supermarket, but more on that later), and found myself absent mindedly chopping it up and whacking it in a simple salad the other night.  Well… cue more freaking angels, as the result was A-mazing!

The salad was as minimal as you can get, but super delicious and it came down to a few quality ingredients.

It consisted of:

Organic heriloom tomatoes, organic cucumbers, organic coriander/cilantro, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, cracked salt and pepper.  (On another occasion I also added baby spinach, olives and parmesan cheese, but I kinda like the simpler version better).

Tomato, cucumber and coriander salad

Here in the U.S. organic food is much more readily available, accessible and affordable compared to back home in Australia.  Back in Melbourne I would rarely buy organic vegetables because I just couldn’t justify spending a gazillion dollars on one bag of organic carrots, and watch my husband and my dog (yes he eats carrots too) turn the colour of oompa loompas as we couldn’t afford to buy/eat anything else.

But here it’s a no brainer.  And can I just say, where I have noticed the most difference in flavour is in the heirloom tomatoes.  They are a taste sensation.  So for all the Aussies, if you can afford to take out a second mortgage, organic heirloom tomatoes are well worth the debt!

Another salad that I whipped up last night was an oldie but such a goodie – and whenever I eat it, I always marvel at the freshness of the flavours.  Once again I did use organic ingredients, but I have made this dozens of times back home without and it tastes just as good.

Ingredients/method: 1 x tin chickpeas/garbanzo beans (drained), baby spinach, handful of chopped flat leaf parsley, shaved parmesan cheese, 1 x chopped clove of garlic, juice of 1 lemon, olive oil, cracked salt and pepper.

Chickpea salad with baby spinach and parmesan

And there you have it!  Some easy peasy, super tasty salads that should come in handy for all you Aussies facing a hot summer and for all the Californians where summer seems to have no end!

Till next time,

this little piggy xxx

Leave a Reply

